Open Reporters

Open Reporters

Regular price
$0.00
Sale price
$0.00
Regular price
Unavailable
Unit price
per 
Free Shipping

The Open Reporter Collection includes 32 commonly used reporter genes used in all kinds of biology labs for a variety of techniques including measuring gene expression, diagnostics, verifying successful transformations and more. The collection includes chromoproteins (which produce a colour that is visible to the naked eye), fluorescent proteins (that require excitation by a certain wavelength of light and emit another wavelength), luciferases (which emit bioluminscence) and other enzymes that enable colorimetric detection of a substrate by changing its color, for example horseradish peroxidase which classically turns a chemical substrate bright pink in very common antibody-based assays such as ELISA.

What can the collection be used for?
There are so many uses for reporter genes that parts of this collection will be useful for almost any lab performing cell or molecular biology. We have provided reporters with a variety of spectra, output and maturation times to cater for specific research uses. Importantly, we cover a wide variety of colours that are visible to the naked eye and using fluorescent detection, making this collection useful not only for research but also for education and even bioart. All reporters are off-patent and can also be used commercially, which is good news for small biotech companies. 

Open Reporters are not provided in expression vectors. In order to see a color, you must subclone your gene of interest into an expression vector.

More information can be found at the Open Bioeconomy Lab Website. A plate map can be found here  

This product is made available under the unilateral OpenMTA.  

Some or all of these items are for use only as permitted by a research exemption.

 

Open Reporters is shipped as purified and dried down plasmid DNA stained with Cresol Red in one 96-well plate. Each well contains approximately 50 ng of DNA. Cresol Red will not impact plasmid transformation.

 

Prior Kit Versions   

If you received an earlier version of this kit labeled "Open Enzymes (Part 2)/Open Reporters, you can find the platemap here.

 

 Genes

Gene Name Freegenes ID
cjBlue/ BioBrick K592011 cjBlue/ BioBrick K592011 BBF10K_003331
gfasPurple/gfasCP Biobrick K1033918 gfasPurple/gfasCP Biobrick K1033918 BBF10K_003335
meffCP meffCP BBF10K_003338
meffCFP meffCFP BBF10K_003342
mmilCFP mmilCFP BBF10K_003343
meleCFP meleCFP BBF10K_003344
efasCFP efasCFP BBF10K_003345
aacuGFP1 aacuGFP1 BBF10K_003346
aacuGFP2 aacuGFP2 BBF10K_003347
afraGFP afraGFP BBF10K_003348
amilGFP Biobrick K592010 amilGFP Biobrick K592010 BBF10K_003349
eechGFP1 eechGFP1 BBF10K_003350
eechGFP2 eechGFP2 BBF10K_003351
eechGFP3 eechGFP3 BBF10K_003352
efasGFP efasGFP BBF10K_003353
gfasGFP gfasGFP BBF10K_003354
palmGFP palmGFP BBF10K_003355
amilRFP amilRFP BBF10K_003357
meffRed/meffRFP Biobricks K592012 meffRed/meffRFP Biobricks K592012 BBF10K_003358
meleRFP meleRFP BBF10K_003360
scubRFP scubRFP BBF10K_003361
eforRed/eforCP Biobrick K592012 eforRed/eforCP Biobrick K592012 BBF10K_003362
amajLime/amajCFP/amFP486 BioBrick K1033916 amajLime/amajCFP/amFP486 BioBrick K1033916 BBF10K_003364
EiraCFP Biobrick J97000 EiraCFP Biobrick J97000 BBF10K_003365
HRP horseradish peroxidase (HRP) BBF10K_003367
Firefly Luciferase [Photinus pyralis] (Fluc) Firefly Luciferase [Photinus pyralis] (Fluc) BBF10K_003368
Luciferase [Luciola cruciata] (Japanese firefly) Luciferase [Luciola cruciata] (Japanese firefly) BBF10K_003369
Renilla luciferase Renilla luciferase BBF10K_003370
beta-lactamase beta-lactamase BBF10K_003371
CIAP Calf Intestine Alkaline phosphatase (CIAP) BBF10K_003372

Download all of this information as a CSV from our GitHub.

Bionet

The bionet enables open peer-peer exchange of functional biomaterials and associated data. This product may also be available from bionet nodes that are more convenient to you. Here are other bionet nodes who may be willing to provide you this specific product.

Name Contact Country
Shree Ram Singh singhlabasu {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Jordan Gonzalez jgonzalez {at} thecitizensciencelab {dot} org United States
John Allan john.allan {at} northumbria {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Mariela Escobar maru {at} michroma {dot} co Argentina
Swaraj Kunal swaraj.avisa {at} gmail {dot} com India
Jose David Rosales jdrr55 {at} yahoo {dot} com https://www {dot} linkedin {dot} com/in/david-rosales-574a7151/ Venezuela
Ben Thuronyi bwt2 {at} williams {dot} edu United States
Wei-Min Chang WeiMinChang {at} tmu {dot} edu {dot} tw Taiwan
Peer Schenk reuben.brown {at} uqconnect {dot} edu {dot} au Australia
Aleksandr Shilovich mercurialbadger {at} yandex {dot} ru Russia
Vitaliy Strochkov NA Kazakhstan
SERV0223789 CAROLINE BACQUET caroline.bacquet {at} ikiam {dot} edu {dot} ec United States
Phil Roche philroche365 {at} gmail {dot} com Canada
Cihan Aydin cihan.aydin {at} medeniyet {dot} edu {dot} tr Turkey
Vincent Paris NA United States
Cauã Westman caua.westmann {at} ieu {dot} uzh {dot} ch Switzerland
Ian Cubit Djcubit {at} nycap {dot} rr {dot} com United States
Stephen Klusza smklusza {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Ahmad Suparmin ahmad.suparmin {at} ugm {dot} ac {dot} id Indonesia
Sarah Ware sarah.ware {at} bioblaze {dot} org United States
Oskar Zeballos zebsamosk {at} gmail {dot} com Bolivia
Fernan Federici ffederici {at} bio {dot} puc {dot} cl Chile
Fristot Elsa elsa.fristot {at} cbs {dot} cnrs {dot} fr France
Yi Wu F.Nobrega {at} soton {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Shivang Joshi https://www.bacto.bio United Kingdom
Kenneth Frimpong ken.frimpong {at} thrivusinstitute {dot} edu {dot} gh Ghana
Hernán Rebolledo lenaranjo {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Amitabha Majumdar Mamitava {at} nccs {dot} res {dot} in India
Jose David Rosales https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-rosales-574a7151/ United States
Ahmed Hegazy a.hegazy {at} biotec {dot} rwth-aachen {dot} de Germany
Jorge Marchand jmarcha {at} uw {dot} edu United States
Benjamin Arias barias {at} alumni {dot} usfq {dot} edu {dot} ec Ecuador
Jehovani Lopez jlopez {at} genspace {dot} org United States
Manish Kushwaha manish.kushwaha {at} inrae {dot} fr France
Leandro Oliveira (NG) ll637 {at} cam {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Pratik Vyas iampratikvyas {at} gamil {dot} com India
Emin Bursa NA United States
Xingyue jiang karma5781 {at} 21cn {dot} com China
James Altamirano James_altam {at} utexas {dot} edu United States
Jimmy Linhares Synbioamazonas {at} gmail {dot} com Brazil
Tim Dobbs tim.dobbs {at} cri-paris {dot} org France
Prince Samoh Samohprince.edem {at} gmail {dot} com Ghana
Aileen Button acbutton {at} ucsd {dot} edu United States
Kevin Correia kevin {at} kedalionlabs {dot} com Netherlands
Alexander Iakovlev atom.liquid {at} gmail {dot} com Canada
Elliot Medina elliot.medina {at} moffitt {dot} org United States
Keoni Gandall koeng101 {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Joey Riepsaame joey.riepsaame {at} path {dot} ox {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Matthew Phanchana matthew.pha {at} mahidol {dot} edu Thailand
Dr. Rajashree Patil rajshree.patil.n {at} gmail {dot} com India
Juan Vicente Farizano juan.farizano {at} fbqf {dot} unt {dot} edu {dot} ar Argentina
Mark Slabodnick mmslabodnick {at} knox {dot} edu United States
Maira Goytia mgoytia {at} spelman {dot} edu United States
Chris Badenhorst chris.badenhorst {at} uni-greifswald {dot} de Germany
Joao Vitor Dutra Molino candidomolino {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Jacques Mathieu mathieu {at} rice {dot} edu United States
Benjamin Loang benjamin.liang {at} uq {dot} edu {dot} au Australia
Esteban Erben eerben {at} iib {dot} unsam {dot} edu {dot} ar Argentina
Han Teng Wong wong_han_teng {at} imcb {dot} a-star {dot} edu {dot} sg Singapore
Lorenzo Zolfanelli biopunk {at} zolfa {dot} nl France
Majed Alghamdi mafa2 {at} le {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Nadia Odaliz Chamana Chura nadia.chamana {at} utec {dot} edu {dot} pe France
Kristel Alman kristel.alman {at} ut {dot} ee Estonia
Foong-Jing Goh wind1989 {at} hotmail {dot} com Taiwan
Suresh Arakera sbarakera {at} kud {dot} ac {dot} in India
Carlos Ueira-Vieira ueira {at} ufu {dot} br Brazil
Sreenivas Eadara sreeni.eadara {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Peter Rootes root0059 {at} umn {dot} edu United States
Tomasz Jurkowski jurkowskit {at} cardiff {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Kefentse Arnold Tumedi tumediak {at} yahoo {dot} com Botswana

Download all of this information as a CSV from our GitHub.
x