Open Plasmids

Open Plasmids

Regular price
$0.00
Sale price
$0.00
Regular price
Unavailable
Unit price
per 
Free Shipping

Currently, sharing and reuse of plasmids is managed by material transfer agreements and patent-based property rights. Navigating these rights and agreements can place cumbersome legal burdens on researchers, who often do not have the legal training to negotiate the agreements themselves, and who may not have access to a university technology transfer office who can help them through the process.

To address these challenges, we have made our own open source plasmids of known provenance and free of IP conflict, thus removing property rights encumbrances and redistribution barriers. Here we present the Open Plasmids Collection, a growing group of standard, freely available, open-source plasmids. Plasmids in the collection can be reused, remade, and redistributed as often as one would like.

What can it be used for:

The Open Plasmids distribution is comprised of three plasmids: pBuild, pYeast, and pInducible. Each vector was designed specifically for the Open Plasmids Collection, and has both an E. coli origin of replication and an antibiotic resistance marker for negative selection.


pBuild is designed as a robust, flexible E. coli cloning vector. The plasmid backbone is compatible with multiple cloning strategies, including restriction ligation, Gibson assembly, SLiCE, and Golden Gate assembly using the FreeGenes MoClo standard. pYeast is an expression vector designed for propagation in E. coli and galactose-inducible expression in yeast, allowing users to investigate their genes in a eukaryotic environment. pInducible is an inducible-copy vector based on iGEM plasmid pSB2K3, and intended for cloning difficult or toxic genes.


Where can I find more information:

Unique parts: 3

Plates in distribution: 1

All parts are present on the plate as raw DNA. Plate layout can be found here.

Instructions for Use:

Transform your plasmid of choice into competent Top10 E. coli cells (or similar). Culture at 37C overnight, with shaking at around 300rpm. The bacterial selection marker for pBuild is ampicillin, and the bacterial selection marker for pYeast and pInducible is kanamycin.

To induce pInducible’s high copy origin of replication, add IPTG to the mid-log-phase culture to a final concentration of 1mM. Allow cells to grow to saturation, then miniprep DNA.

This product is made available under the unilateral OpenMTA

 

Some or all of these items are for use only as permitted by a research exemption.

 

 


 

Genes

Gene Name NCBI ID Freegenes ID
pBuild pOpen_v3 N/A BBF10K_003498
pYeast pOpen_yeast N/A BBF10K_003499
pInducible pOpen_v4 N/A BBF10K_000589

Download all of this information as a CSV from our GitHub.

Bionet

The bionet enables open peer-peer exchange of functional biomaterials and associated data. This product may also be available from bionet nodes that are more convenient to you. Here are other bionet nodes who may be willing to provide you this specific product.

Name Contact Country
Shree Ram Singh singhlabasu {at} gmail {dot} com United States
Han Teng Wong wong_han_teng {at} imcb {dot} a-star {dot} edu {dot} sg Singapore
Danielle Pedrolli danielle.pedrolli {at} unesp {dot} br Brazil
Juan Vicente Farizano juan.farizano {at} fbqf {dot} unt {dot} edu {dot} ar Argentina
Jordan Gonzalez jgonzalez {at} thecitizensciencelab {dot} org United States
Emin Bursa NA United States
Keoni Gandall keoni {at} sporenetlabs {dot} com United States
Fristot Elsa elsa.fristot {at} cbs {dot} cnrs {dot} fr France
Johan Sosa johan {at} thefunquantum {dot} com United States
Jae-Seong Yang jaeseong.yang {at} cragenomica {dot} es Spain
Ed Eisenstein eisenste {at} umd {dot} edu United States
Peer Schenk reuben.brown {at} uqconnect {dot} edu {dot} au Australia
semih cagan semihcgn {at} gmail {dot} com Turkey
Ian Cubit Djcubit {at} nycap {dot} are {dot} com United States
Wilson Teran wteran.doc {at} gmail {dot} com Colombia
Kenneth Frimpong ken.frimpong {at} thrivusinstitute {dot} edu {dot} gh Ghana
Cauã Westman caua.westmann {at} ieu {dot} uzh {dot} ch Switzerland
Amitabha Majumdar Mamitava {at} nccs {dot} res {dot} in India
Kefentse Arnold Tumedi tumediak {at} yahoo {dot} com Botswana
Aleksandr Shilovich mercurialbadger {at} yandex {dot} ru Russia
Travis Wertz travis {at} traviswertz {dot} com United States
Vitaliy Strochkov NA Kazakhstan
Rodrigo Caroca rcaroca {at} uazuay {dot} edu {dot} ec Ecuador
Majed Alghamdi mafa2 {at} le {dot} ac {dot} uk United Kingdom
Tim Dobbs tim.dobbs {at} cri-paris {dot} org France
Tania Pozzo tania.pozzo {at} gmail {dot} com Sweden
James Altamirano James_altam {at} utexas {dot} edu United States
Simran Kushwaha https://www.bits-pilani.ac.in/pilani/biologicalScience/Faculty India
Maan Neamah maanm.neamah {at} uokufa {dot} edu {dot} iq Iraq
Phil Roche philroche365 {at} gmail {dot} com Canada
Maira Goytia mgoytia {at} spelman {dot} edu United States
Lorenzo Zolfanelli biopunk {at} zolfa {dot} nl France
Ahmed Hegazy a.hegazy {at} biotec {dot} rwth-aachen {dot} de Germany
Ian Cubit Djcubit {at} nycap {dot} rr {dot} com United States
raghav sridhar raghav {at} cambrianbioworks {dot} com India
Julio Bonilla jabonill {at} espol {dot} edu {dot} ec Ecuador
Norhan Hassan norhan.hassan {at} kaust {dot} edu {dot} sa Saudi Arabia
Kristel Alman kristel.alman {at} ut {dot} ee Estonia
Xingyue jiang karma5781 {at} 21cn {dot} com China
Esteban Erben eerben {at} iib {dot} unsam {dot} edu {dot} ar Argentina
Oskar Zeballos zebsamosk {at} gmail {dot} com Bolivia
Matthew Phanchana matthew.pha {at} mahidol {dot} edu Thailand
Mariela Escobar maru {at} michroma {dot} co Argentina
Wei-Min Chang WeiMinChang {at} tmu {dot} edu {dot} tw Taiwan
Ahmed Atef ahmed_atefaig2 {at} yahoo {dot} com Saudi Arabia
Dong Nguyen Tam NA Vietnam
Ahmad Suparmin ahmad.suparmin {at} ugm {dot} ac {dot} id Indonesia
Swaraj Kunal swaraj.avisa {at} gmail {dot} com India
Scott Pownall scott {at} opensciencenet {dot} org Canada
Jose David Rosales jdrr55 {at} yahoo {dot} com https://www {dot} linkedin {dot} com/in/david-rosales-574a7151/ Venezuela

Download all of this information as a CSV from our GitHub.
x